Dartmouth Logo

Dartmouth Logo

Sunday, August 25, 2013

Nominations Invited for 2014 Barancik Prize for Innovation in MS Research

The Barancik Prize for Innovation in Multiple Sclerosis Research recognizes an exceptional scientist or a team of scientists whose work in MS research has demonstrated outstanding innovation and originality. This annual prize, made possible by the generosity of the Charles and Margery Barancik SO Foundation, is $100,000 to be used at the discretion of the recipient.

Criteria and Nominations

The goal of the prize is to recognize innovation in scientific research in the field of multiple sclerosis. Nominations must be submitted on behalf an individual, or team of individuals, by one or more colleagues or mentors. Self-nominations are not permitted. Nomination letters should include current institution and contact information of the nominee, and should address the nominee’s scientific accomplishments with an emphasis on citing the innovative and impactful aspects of the nominee’s work. A selection committee comprised of leaders in science, medicine, and MS advocacy will review nominees. The committee will evaluate:
• Exceptional innovation and originality in scientific research relevant to MS
• Impact and potential of the research to lead to pathways for the treatment and cure for MS
• Scientific accomplishments that merit recognition as a future leader in MS research
Nominees that exhibit these qualities will be invited to submit a final application that will include an interview by the selection committee.


Any investigator(s) active in MS research is eligible for the prize, and the nominee(s) may be from any institution or organization— public or private, government, as well as commercial entities. Nominees may also be at any stage of their professional career in MS research. There are no specific requirements for residency or citizenship. Nominees need not be current or past grantees of the National MS Society.


Nomination letters should be sent to barancik.prize@nmss.org starting November 1, 2013 until the January 31, 2014 deadline to be considered for the 2014 prize. Notification of the recipient shall occur by June 2014 followed by a public announcement.

No comments:

Post a Comment